James F. Sosnowski, DO, Distinguished Service Award

The COA's highest honor is presented annually to a member in memory of the only osteopathic physician killed in action in Vietnam. The award, established in 1988, honors those who have made lifelong contributions to the osteopathic profession and/or the community. The recipient may be retired from active practice.

Captain James F. Sosnowski, DO, was killed February 16, 1968, when a mortar shell directly hit the makeshift field hospital near Tay Ninh, Vietnam, where he was examining an American soldier. Both he and his patient were killed instantly. Dr. Sosnowski was two weeks shy of his 28th birthday.

Dr. Sosnowski was a resident in Internal Medicine at Doctors Hospital and entered the military in 1967 during the first draft of osteopathic physicians. He was the first Doctors Hospital staff member to lose his life in the service of his country and the only DO listed on the Vietnam Memorial in Washington DC.

Thomas E. Baker, DO
Henry L. Wehrum, DO
J. Todd Weihl, DO
2018 Kevin B. Olson, DO, PhD posthumously
2017 Albert M. Salomon, DO
2016 Donald R. Furci, DO
2015 John A. Cocumelli, DO
2014 Geraldine N. Urse, DO
2013 Peter A. Bell, DO
2012 Anita M. Steinbergh, DO
2011 John A. (Jack) Brose, DO
2010 John C. Auseon, DO
2009 William F. Emlich, Jr., DO
2008 Francis V. Dono, DO
2007 Richard H. Bracken, DO
2006 Thomas M. Anderson, DO
2005 Carl R. Backes, DO
2004 Rebecca E. deVillers, DO
John E. Adams, Sr, DO posthumously
2003 William J. Burke, DO
2002 Gerard M. Papp, DO
2001 Boyd W. Bowden, DO
2000 Robert M. Snow, DO
1999 John F. Perez, DO
1998 Kirk L. Hilliard, DO
1997 Eli N. Perencevich, DO
1996 Charles G. Vonder Embse, DO
1995 Peter E. Johnston, DO
1994 Eugene F. Trell, DO
1993 W. Dayton Henceroth, DO
1992 Ruth E. Purdy, DO
1991 Leonard D. Sells, DO
1990 John W. Schenz, DO
1989 William J. Athens, DO
Allen S. Birrer, DO
J. Richard Costin, DO
George L. Eckert, DO
Theodore C. Hobbs, DO
1988 Denton L. Adams, DO
William I. Linder, DO
Carmin S. Maietta, DO
Robert S. Seiple, DO
Harold Clybourne, DO posthumously
Ralph S. Licklider, DO posthumously
James O. Watson, DO posthumously